Jan 11 2018

Queen, Tina Turner, Neil Diamond To Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

The Recording Academy will honor Queen, Emmylou Harris, Neil Diamond and Tina Turner with Lifetime Achievement Awards.


The Lifetime Achievement Award recognises outstanding artistic contributions in the field of recording while the Trustees Award is given for contributions in other areas. Bill Graham, Seymour Stein and John Williams will receive the Trustees Award while Hal Blaine, Louis Jordan and The Meters will also collection Lifetime Achievement Awards.

“This year’s Special Merit Awards recipients are a prestigious group of diverse and influential creators who have crafted or contributed to some of the most distinctive recordings in music history,” said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of the Recording Academy. “These exceptionally inspiring figures are being honored as legendary performers, creative architects, and technical visionaries. Their outstanding accomplishments and passion for their craft have created a timeless legacy.”

A date for the event is yet to be announced. It will be midyear.

blog comments powered by Disqus